top of page

Biscuit with mice for a babyshower?

I know...right? I had the same...

What I have noticed living in Holland, that the Dutch do not really have a lot of national holidays and traditions, but the ones they care about are there in their daily lives and they are proud of them. (for example: Sinterklaas) This post is about one of those special traditions related to the big event when a new baby is born.

I promise I will not go all emotional because "I just had a child" and now every post will immediately switch to stories about poopy dipers and throwing up...but I can not help it, I became a Mum, and I had this idea of sharing this tradition with you guys. Coincidence? Maybe...but anyways, I luckily skipped this treat, becauae I did not throw a babyshower, and my friends did not surprise me with it (yet)...There are things I love in the Dutch cuisine, but this is not one of those, I must say...Somehow it is very popular to put sweet chocolate or sugar sprinkles on the top of your bread (no, not on your ice-cream), they are just can not live without them. (I can)

So what is this all about? you need butter, biscuit and star-anise sugarbeans/sprinkles (the mice...I do not see it why. In Hungary we call these kind of sprinkles mouse-shit...no offense, just saying :)) in the colour of the gender of your or your friends baby, and it is all done. So simple, but so very Dutch. You can serve it (for breakfast for instance) when you wanna tell the father-to-be the big news, or when you are throwing/attending a babyshower, or when you are visiting the baby and the family the first time. Or you can play with the colour and tell the gender to loved ones...There are endless fun uses to it, and it will all work out at the end. A Dutch babyshower without the "bescuit met muisjes" is a no go, do not forget it if you get to attend one in The Netherlands one day.

http://dayennefoodblog.com/2015/04/28/beschuit-met-muisjes-of-toch-niet/

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page